traffic laws were adopted in the Louisiana Legislative Session held earlier this
year. Some of those new laws will be
going into effect over the next few weeks.
New Seatbelt Rules
LRS 32:295.1(B) has been amended to require that
all motor vehicle occupants
who are thirteen (13) years of age or older shall
wear a seat belt.
New Rules for Highway Lanes
LRS 32:71(B)(1) and LRS 32:71(C), (D), and (E) relate to lane usage on multilane
highways throughout the State.
Specifically, these statutes restrict vehicles to driving in the left-hand lane
on multilane highways; to provide for a restriction regarding the speed of a
vehicle traveling in a left-hand lane; and to provide for related matters.
Basically, these statutes aim to restrict the left-hand lane for passing.
If you are driving in the left-hand lane and are not in the process of
passing another vehicle or exiting the highway, you can be ticketed.
Enhanced DWI Laws
Several new laws strengthen the penalties for driving while intoxicated and
increase the penalties for refusing to take a breathalyzer exam.
House Bill (HB) 445 provides that all Louisianans agree to provide a breath
sample when property requested, as a condition of receiving a
Louisiana driver’s license. With this new law, drivers’ license
suspension penalties for refusing the
breathalyzer will double from 180 days to one year on the first offense and
increase from 18 months to two years on the second offense.
State Police Website
There are several other new laws that may affect the citizens of Jefferson
Parish. Please visit their website
and click on “News Releases", then “View Statewide News Releases".